Follow Main Street Monroe: Facebook Twitter

  New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Monroe HS Fall Sport Champions
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Monroe HS Fall Sport Champions

 Post Reply Post Reply
 Rating: Topic Rating: 1 Votes, Average 5.00  Topic Search Topic Search  Topic Options Topic Options
Monroe News View Drop Down
Prominent Voice Citizen
Prominent Voice Citizen

Joined: Oct 12 2010
Status: Offline
Points: 4774
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Monroe News Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Monroe HS Fall Sport Champions
    Posted: Dec 14 2018 at 3:57pm

Mr.  Eric  Silverman,  Athletic  Director thanked  the Board  for the opportunity  to  recognize  
some  of the outstanding accomplishments of our fall season athletes and athletic teams.

GIRLS’  SOCCER  CHAMPIONS:  Mr.  Silverman  said  our  Girls  Soccer  Team  captured  SWBL  
Southwestern Division Championship title finishing with an overall record of 12-4-3. This was the 
program’s 5th SWBL title in the last 6 years. Additionally, they too finished their season as OHSAA 
District Runners Up.  Junior Keely  Monroe  is SWBL  Newcomer  of the Year and Head  Coach Stacey  
Williams  is  SWBL  Coach of the Year. He asked Coach Stacey Williams, to come forward to introduce 
the team.

Coach Williams said the boys’ and girls’ team accomplished so much and worked so hard. She said she 
is proud of the program and this season was outstanding. She said they had losses and some ties at 
the beginning, but they stayed focused and ended up with an eight game winning streak including the 
SWBL championship. She said they are looking forward to another great season. She introduced 
members of the team: Molly Hayes, Olivia Wills, Kylie Rupp, Kayla Rupp, Allie Rolph, Lizzie Grooms, 
Jade Gallagher, Chloe Adkins,  Brooke  Frazier,  Alyssa  Beckett,  Emma  Fox,  Mackenzie  Rutledge, 
 HayLee  Collins,  Megan  Hall, Marissa  King,  Kylee  Slone,  Camryn  Bowles,  Brooke  Griffis,  
Keely  Monroe,  Amanda  Fierman  (Captain),
Ashlynn Yarletts, Caeley Taylor, and Brianna Claprood (Captain).

BOYS’ SOCCER CHAMPIONS:  Mr. Silverman then introduced the Boys’ Soccer coach, Michael Oster, and
asked him to come forward to introduce the Boys Soccer Team. Mr. Silverman said our Boys Soccer 
Team became  the  first  school  in  the  SWBL  Southwestern  Division  in  26  years  to  win  an  
outright  SWBL Championship title finishing with an overall record of 13-2-4 and finishing as OHSAA 
District Runners Up! Senior Cassidy Kelly is SWBL Co-Player of the Year, Freshman Logan Schaeper is 
SWBL Co-Newcomer of the Year and Head Coach Michael Oster is SWBL Coach of the Year.

Coach Oster addressed the Board and said it was their goal to win and they accomplished that. He 
said they had a youthful team and that eight players were recognized by the SWBL.   He thanked the 
boys because the coach won the Division 2 Coach of the Year, but said recognition for that goes to 
the Board. He said they went 68 days without losing a game. They received the Ohio Academic Award 
and that the boys represent what every Monroe team should strive to be. They volunteer at the 
Special Olympics and do other volunteer services. He said the members of this group are examples of 
what young men should strive to be. He introduced the team members: Mohammad Albaddawi, William 
Bruce, Dario Cruz, William DeBord,   Jackson   Denney,   Adam   Duff,   Benjamin  Griffis,   Jordan 
  Hamdan,   Zachary   Hamdan,   Blake Hammond, Casey Kelly, Cassidy Kelly, Adam Ploeger, Austin 
Rilling, Logan Schaeper, Brayden Singleton, Andrew Stegmann, Michael Truitt, Alex Watkins, Seth 
Wolfenbarger, and Vicente Ocampo-Zepeda.

CROSS  COUNTRY  CHAMPIONS:    Mr.  Silverman  then  recognized  the  following  members  of  the  
Cross Country Team:

1) Emily McMurry - Emily was the District Champion at the OHSAA District Meet this year with a time 
of 20:23.88 and was a First Team All-League Selection.

2) Christian Leach - Christian finished in 3rd place at the District Meet, 9th at Regional Meet and 
qualified for the OHSAA State Meet for the first time where he finished in 70th place out of 178 

3) Marty Zumbiel - Marty finished in 4th place at the District Meet, 10th at Regional Meet, and 
qualified for the OHSAA State Meet for the 2nd consecutive year where he finished 40th out of 178 

Mr. Silverman asked Coach Seth Darrell to come forward to share more thoughts about Emily, 
Christian, and  Marty.  Coach  Darrell  said  they  set  the  bar  high.  He  said  it  was  a  
great  year,  and  the  team  was
successful. He said Emily, Christian and Marty were the three leaders on the team this year.


Monroe, Ohio Breaking News
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

The Voice | Weather | Advertisers | Advertising Information | Lending Library | Monroe Church Directory

Archived Monroe News From: 1999 | 2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011

Website Design © Xponex Web and Media Services | Contact | Terms of Use | Copyright ©2012